This distinct building was constructed in 1896-97 at a cost of about Rs. 7.31 lakh in the unique colonial style cast iron and steel structure fabricated by the Bombay based Richardson and Cruddas firm. Besides this building, the famous Raffles Hotel in Singapore is the only such building in South Asia. It houses various Central Government offices, including Regional Passport Office, Income tax and CBI. The 25 meter tall building has four floors and three basements. It was originally designed to house the office of the public works department secretariat.
This building was constructed in 1886 after dismantling a structure by the same name which housed the military department of the Punjab Government. It was purchased for Rs. 18,000 in 1881. Lt Col HES Abbott designed it to accommodate the Punjab Secretariat. It was built at a cost of Rs. 3.47 lakh in 1901-02. Spread over 4.66 acres, it is made of stones quarried from Sanjauli and Raj Bhawan and bound with lime mortar. The Himachal Secretarial occupied it in the summer of 1967, when Dr. YS Parmar took over as the state’s first Chief Minister. This 143 room three storeyed building houses the officers of the Chief minister, ministers and senior bureaucrats. In 1972, the Summit Hall was renovated and named on the basis of initial summit meetings held here between India and Pakistan before the Shimla Agreement was finally signed. The Himachal Cabinet now holds its meetings here.
Is occupies a commanding location and is architecturally magnificent. It was built in 1860 using stone and timber with slanting state roof and big glass windows. It has a fair amount of European character and most of its rooms have a fireplace. It houses the offices of the Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Commissioner of the Municipal Corporation. Most branches dealing with various public services are also houses here.
Built in Gothic architectural style, it was constructed on the Ridge in 1860. It is home to the Municipal Corporation Library.
Built in 1933, it was the venue for social get-together for civil and military officers. It houses the offices of the public works and irrigation departments and the Shimla Heritage Museum.
The original bulding was constructed in 1890. It was pulled down for the present structure built in 1909 in the Swiss Alpine Chalet style. A school is being run in this building.
Built in 1923-24, the Council Chamber was opened by Lord Reading on August 20, 1925. Before 1947, it served as the Legislative Assembly Chamber of India. The Himachal Pradesh Assembly holds its sessions here. The office of the Speaker is also housed here. The office of the Speaker is also housed here.
The old building at this site, bought by Governor General Auckland in 1835, was constructed by Dr. Blake. The new building was built in 1920. The school is a boarding and day school.
It was built in 1868, where Bishop Cotton School, set up in 1859 at Jutog moved. It is a boarding school for boys till class XII.